FROYO (Android 2.2)

Well I have the Motorola Droid and I was getting tired of waiting for them to push the OTA download to upgrade to the new firmware of Android 2.2. So obviously I went on the internet and downloaded it and forced the manual upgrade to the wonders of the Froyo. So far it has been working very nicely for me granted I didn’t run many apps on my phone to start with so I didn’t have to deal with the fact that then a few of them do not work with the new updates and cause force closes constantly. The new features that I have enjoyed the most so far are the fact that there are now 5 home screens so there is plenty of room for any and all widgets and shortcuts that you might want, the ability to move some apps over to the SD card to free up space on the phone, I uninstalled my task manager after updating and am very pleased with the extended battery life and the fact that 2.2 does very well with closing down programs that are not being used or at least relocating memory. During this process I also took the time to go through my phone more thoroughly and delete caches and programs that I do not use and over all the phone seems about 3 times as fast occasionally when returning to the main home screen there will be a little bit of lag but nothing that is intolerable. So overall I am more than pleased with the release of 2.2 at least for me I know there are a lot of people out there that are having problems both the rooted and non rooted have been experiencing various issues with the upgrade and that sucks but it is to be expected to a certain amount when there are so many people expecting so much and utilizing one thing in so many different ways. Hopefully all of the issues are worked out quickly and I have a feeling they will judging from the fact that so many people are willing to work on alert Google to the issues that are being dealt with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

